A mind blowing way to add more panels to your existing setup, without adding an inverter

#hope
5 min readSep 22, 2023

While I was writing the other article on my experiences with the Sol Ark 15k and the KiloVault HAB, I realized that the juicier story is about how I was able to save some money by not having to add a new string inverter just to cover 3 extra panels which would be extended to 10 panels sometime in the future.

All the information given here is as per my experience at the time of this writing. Note that hardware, software, electronics & documentation changes over time (100% validated because the older manuals say different things). Use this at your own risk! I would always use the quick, friendly and fast support people at Sol Ark for all my needs!

Because my panels are high voltage (1500V), I was only able to connect 30 of them to the Sol Ark 15k. I had 3 extra remaining because the inverter got changed in between (old one was not UL listed as we found out later).

Here were our final options after much discussion and thought:

#1 MIDNITE SOLAR CLASSIC 150 MPPT CHARGE CONTROLLER, 150V 96A + Victron Energy Phoenix 12/1200 120V NEMA 5–15R Inverter with VE.Direct @ $1,031.48

  • Can only handle the 3 extra panels. No extensibility.

--

--

#hope

“If you see something that’s not right, not fair, not just, do something about it. Say something. Do something.” — Rep. John Lewis