If you use Windows 11 with multiple monitors you need to read this now

#hope
2 min readApr 9, 2022

I have to apologize to Sophos. I thought it was causing my Windows 11 to hang terribly every single time after my desktop would resume from sleep. This is a dual monitor setup, with an NVIDIA Quadro P4000 which still costs about $1K. And yet, very consistently, every single time after the desktop starts up after sleep, Windows 11 would hang.

I tried opening task manager. But with an 18 core Intel Xeon CPU, I did not see the usage of the CPU or GPU go beyond 10–20%. So, I blamed Sophos for the issues because it is since its install that all my problems started.

I was wrong. This is Microsoft screwing Windows 11 RTM with a regression like they keep doing consistently across all their product lines

After living with the problem for weeks, I did a Google Search again and found the solution online:

Forget this at your peril:

Settings > Personalization > Taskbar > Taskbar Behaviors

Note that on some machines this is disabled by default for some reason.

--

--

#hope

“If you see something that’s not right, not fair, not just, do something about it. Say something. Do something.” — Rep. John Lewis