The trick to solving the network issues plaguing your “Wireless” Sonos Speakers

#hope
7 min readJul 10, 2021

For those who have been following my journey optimizing my wired and wireless networks at home, you would think that everything is running very well now. Well, the truth of the matter is that while most of the network runs very well most of the time, the slow parts can really drag you down when they happen.

What we are told is that if any Sonos speaker is connected to a wired connection, that will make the overall Sonos experience better because all the speakers can work together in mesh mode creating wifi connections between each other.

While that maybe true, I noticed that as I added more speakers to my setup, even with a majority of speakers hardwired, performance was getting very slow occasionally with the app, and certain rooms would drop connections and be generally very hard to connect to while trying to Airplay music (which honestly is the only way you can playback from Apple Music to Sonos, unlike Tidal which did Tidal Connect).

On a quick side note, I am better able to appreciate the smaller file sizes in MQA, now that I notice the same songs migrated to Apple Music managed to fully fill up my 256gb iPhone.

Powerline Ethernet Adapters don’t work period

--

--

#hope

“If you see something that’s not right, not fair, not just, do something about it. Say something. Do something.” — Rep. John Lewis